Transparency Disclosure — We may receive a referral fee for products purchased through the links on our site…Read More.


Our GhostBed Flex Mattress Review for 2024

Transparency Disclosure – We may receive a referral fee for products purchased through the links on our site… Read More.
Disclaimer – Nothing on this website is intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment… Read More Here.

GhostBed launched their first all-foam bed-in-a-box in 2015, with the GhostBed Flex hybrid arriving in 2017, promising ‘otherworldly’ comfort that combines the sturdy support of coils with the plush cushioning of memory foam.

The GhostBed Flex is the company’s best-selling luxury hybrid, and it’s easy to see why – it features premium materials, boasts a whole heap of cooling technology, and claims to suit all sleeping types. However, don’t take GhostBed’s word for it – we don’t want you to be haunted by your decision, so we tested the bed ourselves to see if it lives up to the brand’s promises.

GhostBed Flex Mattress

ghostbed flex product image

A responsive hybrid that’s spookily good at cooling, suiting couples, combination sleepers, and most side and back sleepers.

Read GhostBed Flex Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

GhostBed Flex Mattress

ghostbed flex product image

A responsive hybrid that’s spookily good at cooling, suiting couples, combination sleepers, and most side and back sleepers.

Read GhostBed Flex Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
ghostbed flex product image

GhostBed Flex Mattress

A responsive hybrid that’s spookily good at cooling, suiting couples, combination sleepers, and most side and back sleepers.

Read GhostBed Flex Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Who We Recommend The GhostBed Flex For:

  • Hot sleepers – While some beds promise cooling technology that doesn’t actually deliver, we found the GhostBed Flex lived up to its claims. The Ghost Ice cover, cooling gel memory foam, breathable Ghost Bounce foam, and coil unit all combine to offer fantastic temperature regulation for sweat-free sleep.

  • Back sleepers – The combination of coil support and plush contouring makes this bed a great choice for light to average-weight back sleepers. Many heavyweight back sleepers could also find themselves comfortable, although some may prefer a bed that’s a touch firmer.

  • Average-weight side sleepers – Average-weight people who sleep on their side should find themselves sinking far enough into the comfort layers to experience plush cushioning while still feeling well-supported.

Who We Don’t Recommend The GhostBed Flex For:

  • Stomach sleepers – While some lightweight people may find this mattress offers enough support, we think most stomach sleepers will find it too soft. You’ll likely feel your hips sinking to an unhealthy level, which can lead to aches and pains over time.

  • Those wanting a firm bed – We rated the GhostBed Flex a 5.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale, so it’s on the softer side. This could work for many side and back sleepers, but those who prefer firmer mattress support will likely find it too plush.

First Impressions: Firmness & Feel

Firmness Scale: 5.5/10

Please remember that firmness is a subjective characteristic and your shape will dictate how you experience a bed. A heavier person whose weight can more easily push through softer comfort and support layers may experience a bed as softer than a lightweight person. The way you are shaped could also play a role here. Consider your weight, shape, and size when evaluating firmness scores.

Why is firmness so important when choosing a new mattress? Well, it can determine how comfortable the bed is for your body type. People may also prefer different firmness levels depending on their sleeping position – for example, you might like a firm mattress when sleeping on your back or stomach but a softer one when side sleeping.

We rate mattress firmness from 1 to 10, with 10 being super firm. The GhostBed Flex came in at 5.5, making it softer than average (for reference, the industry standard for medium-firm is 6.5 out of 10).

How Does It Feel?

The GhostBed Flex has a plush, cushiony feel thanks to its quilted cover and layers of gel memory foam. When lying on the bed, we felt hugged by the soft top layers, with a cushioned feel that leaves you feeling contoured without disappearing into the foam (which can sometimes happen with memory foam beds). The Ghost Ice cover – woven with special cooling fibers – does a great job of helping the mattress feel cool, right from the very top.

What We Like About the GhostBed Flex

  • Easy to move around on – While this bed does offer some plush cushioning from its quilted cover and gel memory foam comfort layer, it still sleeps ‘on top of’ the bed, rather than ‘in’ it, which makes changing sleeping positions much easier. This is ideal for combination sleepers and those with mobility issues.
  • Great motion isolation – Even though it’s highly responsive, this bed has great motion isolation, which is a rare combination. This means that you shouldn’t feel disturbed by a partner or pet moving around.
  • Latex feel without the latex – People with latex allergies – rejoice! This bed features Ghost Bounce foam, which has all the qualities of latex (cooling, contouring, and responsiveness) without actually using latex.

Our GhostBed Flex Complaints

  • Price – The GhostBed Flex packs a lot into its 13 inches, but it does come at a higher price, which might put off shoppers on a smaller budget.
  • Not great for most heavyweight people– While strict back sleepers in the heavyweight category could find comfortable cushioning and adequate support, this bed isn’t the best choice for heavier side and stomach sleepers.
  • Non-refundable for customers in Alaska and Hawaii – Shoppers in Alaska and Hawaii have to pay 600 dollars for shipping, and aren’t eligible for the 101-night trial. This makes it a potentially risky purchase for people living in those states.

Testing the GhostBed Flex Mattress: How it Performed

We employ different tests to figure out who each mattress could be a good fit for, analyzing features like motion isolation, bounce, edge support, and cooling. We also see how pressure-relieving and supportive a bed is in each sleeping position to help you make an informed decision.

Sleeping Positions for Different Body Types

While the GhostBed Flex can support a total weight of up to 750 pounds (375 pounds per side), we wouldn’t recommend it for many heavyweight sleepers, who likely won’t find the support they need from this softer mattress.

Side Sleepers

  • Lightweight Sleepers – The GhostBed Flex could be a good choice for most lightweight side sleepers, although if you experience severe hip or shoulder pain, we think a softer mattress will offer better pressure relief in those areas.
  • Average-Weight Sleepers – Average-weight side sleepers should sink enough into this bed to experience great pressure relief while still keeping their spine in alignment.
  • Heavyweight Sleepers – We think most heavyweight side sleepers will sink too far into the bed, causing an uncomfortable buildup of pressure.

Back Sleepers

  • Lightweight Sleepers – We think this mattress is a great choice for lightweight back sleepers, who should experience a good balance of back support and joint cushioning.
  • Average-Weight Sleepers – Average-weight back sleepers should find this mattress offers comfortable and plush contouring, as well as necessary spinal support.
  • Heavyweight Sleepers – The GhostBed Flex could be a good pick for a lot of heavyweight back sleepers, who should find themselves well-supported and cushioned. However, some may prefer a firmer bed.

Stomach Sleepers

  • Lightweight Sleepers – While lightweight sleepers usually experience a mattress as softer than advertised, we think most lighter stomach sleepers will need something firmer to give them the support they need.
  • Average-Weight Sleepers – We don’t recommend this bed for average-weight stomach sleepers, who will likely sink too far into the mattress, causing misalignment of the spine. A firmer mattress is advised.
  • Heavyweight Sleepers – Heavyweight stomach sleepers will likely find this bed far too soft, requiring a firmer mattress that offers the required support to keep their hips elevated.

Pressure Relief & Pain

A bed with good pressure-relieving capabilities helps prevent discomfort in sensitive joint areas. The GhostBed Flex’s gel memory foam is designed to give what the brand calls a GhostHug feeling to curb pressure. While we found this was the case for light to average-weight side and back sleepers, heavier side sleepers could experience pressure buildup at the shoulders and hips due to sinking too far into the soft layers.

Back Pain – We found almost zero pressure when lying on our back, which is great news for those with back pain. However, stomach sleepers with back pain will likely find this exacerbated, as the mattress doesn’t offer enough support to keep the hips lifted in this sleeping position.
Hip Pain – As above, stomach sleepers with hip pain should avoid this mattress, as they’ll likely find their hips sinking too far into the comfort layers, experiencing a buildup of pressure in this area. Light to average-weight side sleepers with hip pain should feel comfortable, although those with severe pain may prefer a plusher mattress.
Shoulder Pain – Light to average-weight side sleepers should experience great contouring around the shoulders, offering good pressure relief, although lightweight side sleepers with shoulder pain may require a mattress with softer cushioning.

Support

It’s important to find a mattress with adequate support for your weight and sleeping style to ensure your spine stays in a neutral position while you sleep. Support in the GhostBed Flex comes from its durable coil unit and layer of Ghost Bounce foam, which acts in the same way as latex, offering gentle contouring and responsiveness. This foam helps lift the sleeper out of the bed, ensuring they don’t sink too deeply.

The Ghostbed Flex’s level of support should suit most light to average-weight sleepers, but stomach sleepers and many heavyweight sleepers will likely need a firmer mattress.

Motion Transfer

Motion transfer isn’t so much of a concern for solo sleepers, but if you share your bed with a partner, child, or pet, it can be.

A bed with good motion isolation means that movement is confined to one side of the bed, preventing you from being disturbed by a restless bedmate. In our tests, we couldn’t feel when someone was tossing and turning and barely noticed when someone got in and out of bed, so we were impressed with the motion isolation of the GhostBed Flex.

Temperature Regulation / Cooling

Do you sleep hot, live in a warm climate, or tend to overheat when sharing a bed? Then you should probably look into getting a cooling mattress. Foam is known for trapping heat, but the GhostBed Flex features two layers of gel memory foam, which work together to dissipate body heat.

The layer of Ghost Bounce foam is also breathable, offering further cooling. The bed’s coil unit allows for airflow, and the Ghost Ice cover is cool to the touch, woven with fibers that don’t retain body heat. We found this bed lived up to its cooling claims – a great choice for hot sleepers.

Performance for Couples

As mentioned above, this bed offers fantastic cooling, which is great news for couples sharing a bed. It also has good edge support when sleeping near the perimeter, which means you can both spread out without feeling like you’re going to roll off the side.

We found this mattress to have high bounce, which makes it a good mattress for sex. Responsive mattresses can sometimes underperform at motion isolation, so we were surprised to find the GhostBed Flex had pretty good motion isolation, thanks to the gel memory foam layers, which absorb movement. This means you shouldn’t feel disturbed by a partner tossing and turning.

GhostBed Flex Mattress

ghostbed flex product image

A responsive hybrid that’s spookily good at cooling, suiting couples, combination sleepers, and most side and back sleepers.

Read GhostBed Flex Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

GhostBed Flex Mattress

ghostbed flex product image

A responsive hybrid that’s spookily good at cooling, suiting couples, combination sleepers, and most side and back sleepers.

Read GhostBed Flex Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
ghostbed flex product image

GhostBed Flex Mattress

A responsive hybrid that’s spookily good at cooling, suiting couples, combination sleepers, and most side and back sleepers.

Read GhostBed Flex Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Preference-based Features

Edge Support

Edge support is an important factor if you have mobility issues and need extra support getting in and out of bed, or if you share your bed and like to spread out across the whole surface area. The last thing you want is for the mattress to collapse at the edges. We found the GhostBed Flex had average edge support when sitting on the side of the bed, but we felt secure when sleeping near the edge, thanks to the Spirited Edge™ reinforced coils around the perimeter.


High Bounce

Sexually-active couples, combination sleepers, and people with mobility issues often prefer a mattress with high bounce, as this makes it much easier to move around on the surface of the bed, rather than feeling ‘stuck’ in it, which is often the case with memory foam. The gel memory foam, Ghost Bounce foam, and coil unit all work together to make this bed super responsive.


Made in the USA

All GhostBed mattresses are manufactured in the USA.


Adjustable Base Compatible

The GhostBed Flex can be used on an existing adjustable base, although GhostBed does sell its own in selected sizes.


Construction: What’s Inside GhostBed Flex?

The 13-inch GhostBed Flex is a seven-layer luxury hybrid that’s designed for contouring, bounce, and cooling. It starts with a quilted Ghost Ice cover that’s woven with special cooling fibers to help draw heat away from the body and keep it feeling cool to the touch.

  • Quilted to the cover is an additional 1-inch layer of cooling fiber that offers further temperature regulation, as well as 1 inch of plush gel memory foam. This foam provides contouring and immediate pressure relief.
  • The comfort layer has another inch of gel memory foam, providing contouring and motion isolation. Gel foam doesn’t trap heat as much as traditional foam does.
  • The transition layer is made from 1 inch of exclusive Ghost Bounce foam. This acts like latex, providing responsiveness and further contouring and cooling, as well as easing the sleeper down gently into the coil unit below.
  • The patented GhostFlex coil unit makes up the support layer, with 8-inch pocketed steel coils, promoting airflow and breathability. The steel coils are designed to be more durable and conforming than regular springs. Edge support is provided by the Spirited Edge™ design, which features reinforced coils along the perimeter.
  • The base layer has an inch of high-density foam, giving the coils a foundation to bounce off of, as well as providing stability for the rest of the bed.

Unboxing & Off-Gassing

The GhostBed Flex is a bed-in-a-box mattress, which means it’s delivered to your door compressed in a box. If you’ll struggle to move the box to your bedroom yourself, white glove delivery is offered for an extra 279 dollars.

Once unboxed, the mattress expands to full size immediately, but you might want to wait 24 hours before sleeping on it, as there may be some off-gassing. The off-gassing smell can be unpleasant, but it’s considered harmless and is simply the result of chemical byproducts escaping after being vacuum-packed. Leave the bed in a ventilated room, and the smell should pass.

Certifications

  • Eco-Friendly Certifications – The foams in this bed are CertiPUR-US® certified. CertiPUR-US® is a third-party program that ensures the foams meet rigorous health and safety standards. This means they don’t contain harmful substances like ozone depleters, PBDEs, heavy metals, formaldehyde, and phthalates. They should also have low volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions.

Coupons, Trials, Warranties, and Shipping

  • Shipping – Shipping is free for orders to the contiguous United States, and 600 dollars for orders to Alaska or Hawaii.
  • White Glove Delivery – White glove delivery is available to the contiguous U.S. for a fee of 279 dollars. It includes unboxing and setup of your new mattress and removal of your old one (if required).
  • Trial – You’ll have 101 nights to sleep on your decision with the GhostBed Flex if you’re in the contiguous United States. Orders to Alaska and Hawaii are not eligible for the trial.
  • Warranty – This bed comes with a 25-year warranty.
  • Return Policy – Orders to the contiguous U.S. qualify for free returns and a full refund (minus any shipping fees) if returned within the 101-night trial. Returned mattresses will be donated to charity or recycled. Orders to Alaska and Hawaii are non-returnable.

Sizes & Prices

SizeDimensions (inches)Price (w/o discount)
Twin38” x 75” x 13”$1,995
Twin XL38” x 80” x 13”$2,295
Full54” x 75” x 13”$2,395
Queen60” x 80” x 13”$2,595
King76” x 80” x 13”$2,995
Cali King72” x 84” x 13”$3,015
Split King76” x 80” x 13”$4,590

GhostBed Flex vs Other Brands

GhostBed Flex vs Saatva Latex Hybrid

Product
Firmness
Trial Period
ghostbed flex product image
GhostBed Flex Mattress
Soft: 5.5/10
101 nights
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Firm: 7/10
365 nights
ghostbed flex product image
Product
GhostBed Flex Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 5.5/10
Trial Period
101 nights
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Product
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 7/10
Trial Period
365 nights

Who We Recommend the GhostBed Flex For

  • Couples seeking motion isolation
  • Light to average-weight side sleepers
  • Hot sleepers

Who We Recommend the Saatva Latex Hybrid For

  • Heavyweight sleepers
  • Stomach sleepers
  • Eco-conscious shoppers

If you think the Saatva Latex Hybrid is right for you, check out our Saatva Latex Hybrid mattress review.

GhostBed Flex vs Puffy Lux Hybrid

Product
Firmness
Trial Period
ghostbed flex product image
GhostBed Flex Mattress
Soft: 5.5/10
101 nights
Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress
Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress
Soft: 4.5/10
101 nights
ghostbed flex product image
Product
GhostBed Flex Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 5.5/10
Trial Period
101 nights
Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress
Product
Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 4.5/10
Trial Period
101 nights

Who We Recommend the GhostBed Flex For

  • Couples seeking edge support
  • Shoppers wanting a bouncy mattress
  • Light to average-weight back sleepers

Who We Recommend the Puffy Lux Hybrid For

  • Light to average-weight sleepers
  • People with joint pain
  • Those wanting a longer warranty period

If you think the Puffy Lux Hybrid is right for you, check out our Puffy Lux Hybrid mattress review

GhostBed Flex vs Other GhostBed Models

GhostBed Flex vs GhostBed Classic

Product
Firmness
Trial Period
ghostbed flex product image
GhostBed Flex Mattress
Soft: 5.5/10
101 nights
Product Image of GhostBed
GhostBed Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
101 nights
ghostbed flex product image
Product
GhostBed Flex Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 5.5/10
Trial Period
101 nights
Product Image of GhostBed
Product
GhostBed Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Trial Period
101 nights

Who We Recommend the GhostBed Flex For

  • Hot sleepers
  • Those requiring good edge support
  • Back sleepers

Who We Recommend the GhostBed Classic For

  • Heavyweight sleepers
  • Stomach sleepers
  • Shoppers on a smaller budget

If you think the GhostBed Classic is right for you, check out our GhostBed Classic mattress review

GhostBed Flex vs Ghost SmartBed – 3D Matrix®

Product
Firmness
Trial Period
ghostbed flex product image
GhostBed Flex Mattress
Soft: 5.5/10
101 nights
ghostbed 3d matrix
GhostBed 3D Matrix Mattress
Medium-firm: 6/10
101 nights
ghostbed flex product image
Product
GhostBed Flex Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 5.5/10
Trial Period
101 nights
ghostbed 3d matrix
Product
GhostBed 3D Matrix Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6/10
Trial Period
101 nights

Who We Recommend the GhostBed Flex For

  • Shoppers who aren’t tech-savvy
  • People who prefer a traditional hybrid feel
  • Those on a smaller budget

Who We Recommend the Ghost SmartBed – 3D Matrix® For

  • Shoppers who love the latest technology
  • Couples with differing mattress requirements
  • Luxury shoppers

Overall Summary

The 13-inch GhostBed Flex is a luxury hybrid that’s built for contouring, support, and cooling. We think it’s a fantastic choice for light to average-weight side and back sleepers.

Side Sleepers

4/5

We think most lightweight side sleepers will feel adequately supported and cushioned on the GhostBed Flex, but those with joint pain may be better off on something softer. Average-weight side sleepers should find this mattress super comfortable, while most heavyweight sleepers will likely find it too soft to offer the required support and contouring.

Back Sleepers

4/5

Light to average-weight back sleepers should find this bed a treat, experiencing great support from the coil unit, along with plush cushioning from the comfort layers. We also think many heavyweight back sleepers could suit this bed, though some may prefer a firmer mattress.

Stomach Sleepers

2/5

While exceptionally light humans may experience adequate support when front sleeping, we think most stomach sleepers will find this mattress too soft. A firmer mattress will provide the required lift to keep the hips elevated and the spine in healthy alignment.

Combination Sleepers

4/5

This mattress has a good amount of bounce, which makes it easier for combination sleepers to change positions during the night. If you’re a light to average-weight person who switches between their front and back, this could be a great mattress for you, but stomach sleepers and heavyweight combo sleepers should steer clear.

Couples

4/5

The GhostBed Flex scored highly for responsiveness, motion isolation, edge support, and cooling, which are all important things for couples to take into consideration when buying a bed. However, it’s not the best bed for stomach sleepers or heavyweight side sleepers, so keep this in mind if you or your partner fall into these categories.

Heavy Sleepers

3/5

If you’re heavyweight and a strict back sleeper, this mattress could provide enough support and cushioning to keep you comfortable, though some may prefer a firmer bed. We think most side sleepers will sink too far into the comfort layers, causing pressure buildup, and stomach sleepers will likely need something firmer to keep the hips elevated.

Lightweight Sleepers

4/5

Lightweight people tend to experience mattresses as firmer than advertised as they don’t sink into them as deeply. This makes the GhostBed Flex a great choice for back sleepers in this weight category. Most side sleepers should also sleep well on this bed, but those with joint pain may prefer more cushioning. Most stomach sleepers will need a firmer mattress.

Average Weight Sleepers

4/5

We think this mattress is a great choice for average-weight side and back sleepers, who should find themselves healthily supported and comfortably cushioned. However, this isn’t a good choice for stomach sleepers, who will likely need something firmer to prevent their hips from sinking to an unhealthy level.


Overall Value

3/5

At 2,595 dollars for a Queen, this isn’t the cheapest hybrid out there, though the 25-year warranty and durable materials should bring some peace of mind. The trial period is standard and should provide enough time to finalize your decision. However, this bed did fall short in that the brand doesn’t allow returns for those in Hawaii and Alaska.

Our Verdict

We think the GhostBed Flex mattress excels at temperature regulation, so is a great choice for hot sleepers or people living in a warmer climate. Light to average-weight side and back sleepers should get the most out of this mattress, while many heavyweight back sleepers could also find themselves well-supported.

Combination sleepers in these categories should appreciate the high bounce for easier repositioning, and couples could love the edge support, motion isolation, and responsiveness. All in all, a high-quality bed made with durable materials that should last for years to come.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the GhostBed Flex good for a heavy person?

We found the GhostBed Flex to be a good fit for most heavyweight back sleepers, as the strong coil unit works together with the foam layers to provide adequate support and cushioning. However, we think most heavyweight side sleepers will sink too far into the comfort layers, and heavier stomach sleepers will definitely require a firmer mattress.

Is the GhostBed Flex soft or firm?

The GhostBed Flex came in at 5.5 out of 10 on our firmness scale, which is in the medium range, though it’s still softer than the industry standard for medium-firm, which is 6.5.

How long does it take for GhostBed Flex to expand?

The GhostBed Flex expands to its full size immediately after unboxing.

Is the GhostBed Flex good for side sleepers?

We think this bed could be great for light to average-weight side sleepers, although lighter people with severe joint pain may prefer something a little plusher that offers better pressure relief for their weight category. Most heavier side sleepers will probably sink too deeply into the bed, causing a buildup of pressure at the hips and shoulders.

Where are GhostBed mattresses made?

GhostBed mattresses are made in the United States.

GhostBed Flex Mattress

ghostbed flex product image

A responsive hybrid that’s spookily good at cooling, suiting couples, combination sleepers, and most side and back sleepers.

Read GhostBed Flex Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

GhostBed Flex Mattress

ghostbed flex product image

A responsive hybrid that’s spookily good at cooling, suiting couples, combination sleepers, and most side and back sleepers.

Read GhostBed Flex Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
ghostbed flex product image

GhostBed Flex Mattress

A responsive hybrid that’s spookily good at cooling, suiting couples, combination sleepers, and most side and back sleepers.

Read GhostBed Flex Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Lisa Bowman

Lisa Bowman

Writer

About Author

Lisa is a content writer for Sleep Advisor, which combines two of her greatest passions – writing and sleeping. She can also be found writing about fitness, sustainability and vegan food.

Combination Sleeper