Transparency Disclosure — We may receive a referral fee for products purchased through the links on our site…Read More.


Our In-Depth Dreamcloud Premier Mattress Review – Expert Tested

DreamCloud’s mission is to offer a luxury bed at an affordable price that’s easily accessible to consumers. The company also launched one of the very first bed-in-a-box options.

DreamCloud is continually working to provide exceptional updates and modifications to the popular Premier bed. The Premier is an upgraded version of the brand’s standard DreamCloud bed, featuring conventional foams and 8.5-inch pocketed coils made from 85 percent recycled steel.

Both Emma and Julia from our team tested this bed in person. In this article, we’ll go through what they found, focusing on its construction, pressure relief, support, motion isolation, and overall feel to help you decide if this is the right mattress for you.

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
The Premier has a reinforced perimeter, so the edges shouldn’t collapse if you sleep in this area
This hybrid is compressed, rolled, and packed into a box that’s easier to ship and move
The Premier is 14 inches tall, which makes it look modern and luxurious regardless of the bed foundation you use.
Cons
The Premier is considered a bit pricey when compared to other similar mattresses.
Side sleepers weighing under 130 pounds may find this bed too firm.
Although it’s a hybrid, its mid-range firmness may not be enough to support a significantly heavier person.

DreamCloud Premier Performance Ratings

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4
Pressure Relief
4
Support
4
Motion Transfer
3
Cooling
3
Bounce
3
Edge Support
4
Couples

Watch Our DreamCloud Premier Video Review

Who We Recommend The DreamCloud Premier For:

  • Memory foam fans – If you like to nestle into your bed and feel that great pressure relief that comes from a memory foam hug, this hybrid features two Euro top layers. As Julia said, “The memory foam and soft foam at the mattress surface really cradle these key areas.”
  • Couples – The DreamCloud Premier offers decent motion isolation to help prevent partners from disturbing the other person if they move. There’s also solid edge support and some bounce that we think couples will benefit from.
  • Hesitant buyers – If you’re the type of person who likes to test things out at your own pace, this company’s giving you a year to sleep on this mattress and make sure it’s your perfect fit.

Who We Don’t Recommend The DreamCloud Premier For:

  • Stomach sleepers – The DreamCloud Premier mattress sits at a true medium firmness and has a cozy sink and enveloping hug. However, we think this mix may not be the perfect recipe for stomach sleepers. When lying on her stomach, Emma, an average-weight sleeper, said she’d prefer a firmer surface. If you’re above 230 pounds, you’d most definitely need a firmer bed for sleeping on your stomach.
  • Budget shoppers – The Dreamcloud Premier is a hybrid mattress offering the benefits of both foam and coils. However, they can be more expensive than all-foam beds, which may be a disadvantage for consumers looking for a cheaper mattress. Dreamcloud Premier is also more costly because it’s an upgrade to the standard DreamCloud model.

First Impressions: Firmness & Feel

Firmness Scale: 5.5/10

Please remember that firmness is a subjective characteristic and your shape will dictate how you experience a bed. A heavier person whose weight can more easily push through softer comfort and support layers may experience a bed as softer than a lightweight person. The way you are shaped could also play a role here. Consider your weight, shape, and size when evaluating firmness scores.

We rate mattress firmness on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the firmest feel. Julia gave the DreamCloud Premier a 6.5, which is a medium-firm feel. That said, Julia points out the feel goes “almost toward a 7 out of 10.” 

We think this medium-firm feel should work well for most people, except for stomach sleepers, who may prefer a firmer bed to keep their lower back from arching. It’s also worth noting that both Julia and Emma are average-weight sleepers, so a heavier person will likely feel this bed is softer.

How Does It Feel?

Our testers pointed out that this bed feels plush and soft, and the cover feels well-made and durable. The Euro top hugs the body as the memory foam layer conforms to your curves, giving you a more ‘in-the-bed’ feel. Julia said, “[The] Soft pillow top design gives a decent amount of pressure relief and cushion, but I was expecting it to be super soft with the pillow top.”

However, the mattress is unlikely to trap you, so you’ll still be able to get in and out of bed easily. “A dynamic transition layer of foam gives a bit of bounce so you don’t end up feeling too stuck in the bed,” according to Emma.

Testing DreamCloud Premier: How it Performed

Sleep Advisor’s Testing Methodology

At Sleep Advisor, our mattress reviews are based on findings from in-person tests that allow us to have a genuine understanding of how the mattress feels and performs.

Emma from our team tested this bed for qualities like support, pressure relief, motion isolation, cooling, bounce, and edge support. These tests allowed us to better understand how the mattress performs in different situations and for people with different sleeping habits. The DreamCloud Premier is a versatile mattress that should adapt to your body in various positions. 

For more on our testing methodology, visit our product review process page.

Our lead product tester, Julia Forbes, in the studio.

Sleeping Positions for Different Body Types

The company says there is no official weight limit for the DreamCloud Premier. However, that doesn’t mean this mattress will properly accommodate all sleepers. Below we break down how we think this mattress works for different body types and sleep styles.

Side Sleepers

  • Lightweight Sleepers – Lightweight side sleepers should find plenty of pressure relief in the shoulders, hips, and knees. The mattress has a Euro top and is “a natural fit for this sleep position,” according to Julia.
  • Average-Weight Sleepers – We think average-weight side sleepers should find the Premier equally comfortable thanks to its mid-range firmness and comfort and transition layers sitting above the coil unit. “A+ in my book.”, said Julia, who is an average-weight sleeper.
  • Heavyweight Sleepers – Heavyweight side sleepers who prefer softer beds may like the Premier, although the bed is generally considered too soft for those weighing over 230 pounds.

Back Sleepers

  • Lightweight Sleepers – Lightweight back sleepers need support in the hip area to prevent sinkage, which could throw the spine out of alignment. According to Julia, the Premier “may feel on the firmer side of things for this sleep category but still feels very supportive nonetheless.”
  • Average-Weight Sleepers – Average-weight back sleepers may experience more sinkage, but this doesn’t mean they’d get less support. Julia said she experienced “good weight distribution with a softer feel and a very inviting sleep surface.”
  • Heavyweight Sleepers – Heavy people sleeping on their backs would feel their hips sinking into the mattress a bit too much. However, the mattress provides a “cushy sleep surface, still decent with lumbar support even with sinking,” according to Julia.

Stomach Sleepers

  • Lightweight Sleepers – Regarding lightweight sleepers, Julia noted, “Stomach sleepers can get away with this one, but you may sense the slightest bit of dip at the lumbar.”
  • Average-Weight Sleepers – People weighing 130 to 230 pounds are unlikely to find the Premier comfortable for sleeping on the stomach. We think most people in this group would benefit from a firmer mattress.
  • Heavyweight Sleepers – Heavyweight sleepers who enjoy sleeping on their stomach won’t get the support they need to keep the hips from sinking in too deeply.
Emma sleeping on the dreamcloud premier to test the firmness

Pressure Relief & Pain

4/5

The DreamCloud brand addresses this concern by using a combination of soft comfort foams, conforming memory materials, and transitional support to ensure that the body’s shape is accommodated and curves are supported.

Emma said, “Laying down, we feel a lot of pressure relief, especially lying on our sides. I definitely prefer sleeping on my side on this model. It feels great around my shoulders and hips, and they sink down enough to help my spine feel straight.”

The pressure map from when Julia tested the DreamCloud Premier mattress.

Is the DreamCloud Premier Mattress Good for Pain Relief?

The DreamCloud Premier mattress has a plush Euro top that can help cradle pressure points and prevent shoulder and hip pain. However, it’s important to remember that the soft cushioning of the Euro top may not fit everyone’s sleeping position, body weight, and shape.

  • Back Pain – The DreamCloud Premier should help relieve some back pain by providing ample support for the lower back and shoulders. The mattress cradles these pressure points, allowing a bit of sinkage to prevent pressure build-up that could otherwise result in back pain. When it comes to stomach sleeping with back pain, though, Julia points out that the “hips are digging down, and even though it’s a plush pillow top, I can see a lot of sleepless nights and potential back pain happening here.“
  • Hip Pain – The Premier has a Euro top with two foam layers that help cushion your hips to relieve pain and pressure. In addition, the mid-range firmness allows a bit of sinkage, which is what we think most people with hip pain need.
  • Shoulder Pain – Shoulder pain can be a struggle to fall asleep with, but we think this hybrid should provide sufficient pressure relief with its Euro top and two foam layers underneath.

Support

4/5

The DreamCloud Premier mattress starts its support system with an 8.5-inch unit of individually wrapped coils that compress under the sleeper’s weight and should offer more tailored support and even alignment for most sleepers. “Lumbar support feels fantastic, just deducting a point for stomach sleeping as it dips slightly into the mattress.”, said Julia.

Motion Transfer

3/5

Although this mattress is a hybrid, it does a decent job of isolating motion. The mattress has multiple foam layers above the 8.5-inch coil unit, which helps with motion isolation. “Small movements are absorbed, but bigger ones, like getting in and out of bed, slightly shake the mattress,” shared Julia.

Temperature Regulation / Cooling

3/5

Although hybrid mattresses are more breathable than all-foam models, this bed has several foam layers on top of the coils. For this reason, it does get hotter than average hybrid beds. Therefore, if you’re someone who sleeps extra-hot, we recommend a better cooling mattress.

Bounce

4/5

Although this isn’t a bouncy bed, Julia noticed a “quick reaction from [the] foam pillow top and coils.” The dynamic transition layer adds a bit of bounce to help sleepers reposition, which is especially useful for combination sleepers. However, don’t expect as much bounce as you’d get from an innerspring mattress, for example. 

Edge Support

3/5

“The reinforced edge support provided by the coil system lets you roll around right up to the edge of the bed without causing the mattress to stag,” said Emma. And while Julia agrees that lying near the edge of the bed feels stable, she didn’t feel stable when sitting.

Performance for Couples

3/5

Many couples enjoy beds that can provide bounce and motion isolation, and hybrids are among the best beds for that. Although the DreamCloud Premier doesn’t have the best bounce and motion isolation, we think it would work well for partners with similar sleeping habits. 

Julia said the Premier’s motion isolation is “fine.” She goes on to say, “You could feel major movements, such as getting in and out of bed or a big shift in sleep position.”

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Preference-based Features

Euro Top

Speaking on the DreamCloud Premier’s surface, Emma remarked, “I would definitely need to shout out the cashmere cover.” The top two layers of foam in this bed are quilted to the cashmere blend cover, creating its Euro top finish (a type of pillow top), which gives the surface a pillowy, cloud-like look and feel. We think the Euro top is an excellent option for side sleepers seeking pressure relief and body-hugging.

Adjustable Base Compatible

This bed is compatible with all foundations, including adjustable bases.

Industry-Leading Warranty and Trial

When Julia tested this bed, she pointed out, “DreamCloud creates affordable mattresses with a luxury feel, with warranties [and] policies that I rarely see in the mattress sphere — like a lifetime warranty and a year-long sleep trial.”

Construction: What’s Inside the DreamCloud Premier?

The DreamCloud Premier works with all bed foundations, including adjustable bases. However, make sure to place it on a firm, solid base.

The cover is a cashmere blend quilted to two layers of foam to create the bed’s Euro top. According to Julia, this “screams expensive.” The top foam layer is memory foam, which allows the mattress to contour to your frame. This bed has five layers total, two of which are built into the cashmere cover, and it stands 14 inches tall.

  • The Euro Top Cradle Layer is directly beneath the cover and is made of an inch of high-loft memory foam for gentle cradling.
  • The Euro Top Support Layer is an inch of soft foam. This unit supports the upper layer while giving the Euro top extra plushness.
  • Below the Euro top is the Dynamic Transition Layer. This foam is 2.5 inches thick and helps keep the spine supported while also easing you into the innerspring unit below.
  • The coil unit is 8.5 inches thick. The unit contains both inner and perimeter coils for optimum edge support on all sides. In addition, the coils should help promote additional airflow throughout the bed to help you stay cool while also limiting motion transfer and making sure you’re well-supported.
  • The base is an additional foam layer that’s 1 inch thick and provides the Premier with extra support and stability at the bottom.
  • The Shift-Resistant Lower Cover helps hold the mattress in place.
The inside of the DreamCLoud Premier mattress from when Julia cut it open.

Unboxing & Off-Gassing

Unboxing is simple, and there are handles placed on the sides to help you move the mattress into place. The mattress is compressed and shipped in a box, so it can take 24-72 hours to expand to its full 14-inch height. We noticed there is some manufacturing smell to the mattress, but this should dissipate by the time the mattress decompresses.

Certifications

  • Eco-Friendly Certifications – This bed is CertiPUR-US® certified. This certification indicates that the foams have undergone testing that looks for unsafe levels of VOCs and other harsh chemicals that have historically been part of the manufacturing process of polyurethane foams.

Noteworthy Updates:

  • The DreamCloud has four layers, and the DreamCloud Premier has five layers.
  • DreamCloud now offers their Premier in a Twin size. They have also slightly adjusted the width of their Twin and Twin XL models from 39 inches to 38.
  • DreamCloud has reintroduced cashmere back into the DreamCloud cover. The DreamCloud Premier has a quilted cashmere blend cover that’s resilient, absorbent, and soft. It adds a high-end quality to the DreamCloud Premier.

Coupons, Trials, Warranties, and Shipping

  • Shipping – This company ships for free within the United States, though there is a 250-dollar fee for shipments to Alaska and Hawaii. Shipping to international countries or U.S. territories is not available at this time.
  • White Glove Delivery – Should you choose, the company offers an optional delivery service that will bring the bed into your home and set it up for you. This costs 199 dollars for two items and an extra 49 dollars for every additional item. 
  • Trial – DreamCloud offers one of the longest sleep trial periods in the business. You can try the brand for free in your home for a full year before deciding to commit to the bed.
  • Warranty – This brand is covered by a lifetime warranty, which is only available to the bed’s original purchaser.
  • Return Policy – You can return the Premier at any time during the trial period, and the company will issue a full refund. Returns are free

Sizes & Prices

SizeDimensions (inches)Price (w/o discount)
Twin38” x 75” x 14”$999
Twin XL38” x 80” x 14”$1,299
Full54” x 75” x 14”$1,499
Queen60” x 80” x 14”$1,599
King76” x 80” x 14”$1,899
Cali King72” x 84” x 14”$1,899

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the DreamCloud Premier Mattress good for heavy people?

We don’t think the DreamCloud Premier would be good for heavy people because it likely won’t be supportive enough for them. Although it’s a hybrid with 8.5-inch coils, our mattress testers found that foam layers on top are too soft and would likely allow too much sinkage for people weighing more than average.

Is the DreamCloud Premier a firm mattress?

The DreamCloud Premier isn’t a firm mattress. Rather, we consider this bed to have a medium-firm feel, which we rated 6.5 out of 10. The good news, though, is that medium-firm beds are usually more accommodating for a wider range of sleepers.

How many years does a DreamCloud mattress last?

Like most hybrid mattresses, DreamCloud should last eight to 10 years. However, you have the highest chance of getting the most out of your bed by rotating it occasionally. Also, make sure nobody jumps on it as this can shorten its lifespan.

Do you need a box spring with a DreamCloud?

The DreamCloud Premier doesn’t require a box spring because it has coils that give it enough structure. The mattress can be placed on a box spring if you’d like, but you can also use a platform base, adjustable base, and a metal bed frame.

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a great option for those who want a more luxurious sleeping experience.

Score 3.5/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium: 5.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Verdict

Our final score for the DreamCloud Premier is a 3.5 out of 5. While this  score may feel a bit too low, given how well-made this bed is, it is mostly due to the lack of cooling features and bounce. If these aren’t important to you, you should feel more than happy with this bed.

After testing, we think lightweight and average-weight people would be best served by this bed, whereas heavier people should go with something firmer and more supportive for their body frame. That being said, even lighter stomach sleepers may opt for a firmer model to ensure their hips remain lifted.

Olivera Jancikin

Olivera Jancikin

Content Writer

About Author

Olivera is a content writer for Sleep Advisor and is enthusiastic about sleep. She firmly believes in the benefits of daytime naps on top of getting a full 8-hour sleep at night.

Combination Sleeper