Transparency Disclosure — We may receive a referral fee for products purchased through the links on our site…Read More.


Our InDepth Natural Escape Bed Review (by My Green Mattress) for 2024

Looking for a bed that works hard so you can rest even harder? That’s the claim with Natural Escape.

My Green Mattress has designed a line of products meant to offer the ultimate support while simultaneously diminishing allergens and unnatural materials so you can rest easy. Founded by a father with a daughter struggling with allergies, the company is dedicated to creating a clean, antibacterial sleep experience for their customers.

We had Emma from our mattress testing team try out this mattress first-hand. She focused on how it feels and performs in various positions, touching on important factors such as motion isolation, cooling, pressure relief, and more. In this review, we’ll talk more about what Emma found, as well as details about the trial, warranty, firmness, and more.

My Green Mattress Natural Escape

The Natural Escape is a hypoallergenic mattress designed for back and stomach sleepers seeking zoned support and a firm surface with just a bit of sinkage to prevent pressure build-up.

Score 4.2/5
Read My Green Mattress Natural Escape Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

My Green Mattress Natural Escape

The Natural Escape is a hypoallergenic mattress designed for back and stomach sleepers seeking zoned support and a firm surface with just a bit of sinkage to prevent pressure build-up.

Score 4.2/5
Read My Green Mattress Natural Escape Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

My Green Mattress Natural Escape

The Natural Escape is a hypoallergenic mattress designed for back and stomach sleepers seeking zoned support and a firm surface with just a bit of sinkage to prevent pressure build-up.

Score 4.2/5
Read My Green Mattress Natural Escape Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Watch Our Natural Escape Video Review

Who We Recommend The Natural Escape For: 

  • People with allergies – As Emma explained, “The materials in this product are designed to ease allergy sufferers by reducing triggers.” This helps ease some of the symptoms, making it easier to achieve a good night’s sleep. 
  • Those who want zoned support – The surface has five zones of support to deliver compression and pushback where it’s needed the most. We found there’s ample support in the midsection and more sinkage around the head and feet to achieve proper spine alignment.  
  • Stomach sleepers – Stomach sleepers typically prefer firmer beds, so we think many will like how the Natural Escape feels. Even some back sleepers should like how it prevents the hips from sinking too much. 

Who We Don’t Recommend The Natural Escape For: 

  • Lightweight side sleepers – You may find the Natural Escape mattress too firm if you’re a side sleeper under 130 pounds. The bed is on a firmer side, and if you’re lightweight, it may feel even firmer, which can be a problem for this group.
  • People with pressure buildup – “If extra pressure relief is a major priority, a softer product may be the way to go,” Emma shared. Average-weight and heavier sleepers may not have this issue, but if you’re a lightweight person, pressure buildup could be an issue in some positions.

First Impressions: Firmness & Feel

Firmness Scale: 6.5-7.5/10

Mattress Firmness Level 6.5-7.5

Please remember that firmness is a subjective characteristic and your shape will dictate how you experience a bed. A heavier person whose weight can more easily push through softer comfort and support layers may experience a bed as softer than a lightweight person. The way you are shaped could also play a role here. Consider your weight, shape, and size when evaluating firmness scores.

We score mattress firmness using a scale that helps us explain just how firm or soft a mattress feels. After testing the Natural Escape, we feel it sits on 6.5-7.5 out of 10. With that said, it should feel like a medium-firm mattress for most people.

Emma tested how the firmness feels in various positions, but it’s important to note that she’s about 140 pounds. If you’re significantly over or under this weight, the mattress may feel entirely different.

How Does It Feel? 

This mattress should deliver “a feel closely related to a gentle cradle,” according to Emma. Shoppers should remain floating on the mattress, with minimal sinkage and a gentle cradle lightly contouring them while they sleep. The zoned areas of the coil system should allow a little more compression in the head and foot areas, with firmer support in the torso section.

Lots of bounce and a quickly reforming latex unit should allow for easier repositioning to aid combination sleepers.

What We Like About the Natural Escape 

  • Certified materials – The cotton, wool, and Dunlop latex used in this mattress are all certified as organic and safe to use, as they don’t feature any toxins, heavy metals, chemicals, or harmful substances. 
  • Trial and warranty – You can hardly go wrong with a mattress that comes with a 365-night trial. There’s plenty of time to test how you like it and return it if it doesn’t fit your needs. Plus, this bed also comes with a lengthy 20-year warranty.
  • Edge support – The Natural Escape has reinforced edges that ”create a consistent feel from edge to edge,” as Emma explained.

Our Natural Escape Complaints

  • It may be too bouncy for some – This bed has latex and coils, so it’s supposed to be bouncy and responsive. This isn’t necessarily a drawback for everyone, but those used to slow-sinking memory foam may find it a bit too much. 
  • Too firm for petite sleepers – People under 130 pounds are likely to experience this bed as even firmer. As such, the Natural Escape might not be a good fit to relieve pressure if you sleep on your side or back.
  • It’s a bit pricey – The Natural Escape isn’t the most expensive mattress out there, but it’s not the most affordable either. The Twin size, which is the smallest, will cost you over 1,000 dollars, so keep that in mind if you’re after a Queen or King size.

Testing the Natural Escape Mattress: How It Performed 

Emma tested this mattress in various sleeping positions to evaluate how it feels for each type of sleeper. She also focused on motion isolation, cooling, bounce, edge support, pressure relief, and more to help you decide if the Naturel Escape mattress would be a good fit for you. 

For more on our testing methodology, visit our product review process page.

Sleeping Positions for Different Body Types

We couldn’t find any specific details on the Natural Escape’s exact weight capacity. However, we can assume based on its firmness and construction. This mattress is a hybrid one, though, and they’re often able to support more weight than all-foam models. 

WeightSide SleepersIconBack SleepersIconStomach SleepersIcon
Lightweight Sleepers (-130 lbs)★★☆★★☆★★★
Average-Weight Sleepers (130-230 lbs)★★★★★★★★★
Heavyweight Sleepers (+230 lbs)★★☆★★☆★★☆

Side Sleepers

  • Lightweight Sleepers – Lightweight side sleepers may find this mattress a bit too firm. The Natural Escape’s medium-firm feel might not be the best for pressure relief if you’re under 130 pounds. 
  • Average-Weight Sleepers – Side sleepers weighing 130 to 230 pounds should like the medium-firm feel that provides them with a gentle cradle. Zoned support helps with spine alignment, allowing just enough sinkage and support in all the right areas. 
  • Heavyweight Sleepers – Heavy sleepers will sink a bit deeper in the shoulder area, but generally, we think most should feel nicely supported by this bed.

Back Sleepers

  • Lightweight Sleepers – Although some back sleepers under 130 pounds may prefer more sinkage in the lower back area, we think the Natural Escape is a good match for those who prefer a firmer mattress. 
  • Average-Weight Sleepers – “I feel that my back is not only being supported but like my body is well aligned,” said Emma. This is likely due to the coils and zoned support, offering variable levels of sinkage to ensure proper spine alignment in this position. 
  • Heavyweight Sleepers – Heavy sleepers should feel equally supported, even with a bit more sinkage around the hips. However, we think those closer to 300 pounds may prefer a firmer bed.

Stomach Sleepers

  • Lightweight Sleepers – The Natural Escape is a good option for lightweight stomach sleepers as it allows a gentle cradle without letting the hips sink too deeply. 
  • Average-Weight Sleepers – When lying on her stomach, Emma said the bed provides “solid support.” She goes on to say it, “fosters a neutral feel that helps keep my spine aligned.”
  • Heavyweight Sleepers – Heavy stomach sleepers usually go for firmer beds as the hips need extra support in this position. Nonetheless, we think the Natural Escape is firm enough for most stomach sleepers weighing closer to 230 pounds. 

Pressure Relief 

3/5

This mattress has 3 inches of Dunlop latex, serving as the comfort layer. This provides a surface bounce that makes it easier to reposition and get in and out of the bed. How much you’ll sink into it depends on your body weight, so sleepers may experience variable pressure relief. 

Average-weight and heavy sleepers will likely experience more relief as they sink deeper into the comfort layer. Zoned support will ensure critical points remain on top with a gentle cradle around the hips, shoulders, and knees. 

Is the Natural Escape Mattress Good for Pain Relief? 

If you struggle with pain while sleeping, this may be due to an uncomfortable mattress. We think the Natural Escape can help with this, especially if you usually struggle with back pain. The mattress has zoned support that helps ensure your back is straight in all sleeping positions, so the mattress itself shouldn’t cause any pain unless there’s any underlying issue.

Back Pain

Back pain can make it difficult to sleep, regardless of your preferred sleeping position. We think the Natural Escape bed can help as it has zoned support that keeps your body properly aligned. The medium-firm feel ensures your hips and shoulders don’t sink too deeply, offering just enough sinkage to relieve pressure and pain in the lower back. 

Hip Pain 

People with hip pain usually steer toward softer mattresses, but we think the Natural Escape should do an adequate job. The trick is in its latex comfort layer that provides a gentle cradle as it contours your hips to relieve pain and pressure without letting them sink too deeply. That being said, some petite side sleepers with hip pain may still prefer a softer bed for enhanced cushioning in this sensitive area. 

Shoulder Pain 

Shoulder pain often makes it uncomfortable to sleep on the side. However, the Natural Escape mattress can help relieve the pain, especially if you switch to sleeping on the back. With back sleeping, the mattress provides the best balance of relief and support thanks to its zoned coils that ensure a healthy sleep posture. As with hip pain, though, we feel that lightweight side sleepers with shoulder pain may need a softer bed if they don’t switch positions.

Support

5/5

Hybrid mattresses are often good at supporting the body in various sleeping positions as they combine coils with different foam comfort layers. The Natural Escape mattress is no different. This hybrid has up to 1,462 coils that are zoned to provide ample support and relief where they’re needed the most. 

With this said, you should feel a gentle cradle around the hips, lower back, knees, and shoulders. However, none of these parts should sink too deeply, which could otherwise put you in an uncomfortable position and cause pressure buildup. Plus, the Natural Escape mattress is on the firmer side, which we also think helps support the body better.

Motion Transfer

3/5

Hybrid beds tend to land somewhere between bouncy innerspring models and dense memory foam products. If you saw Emma’s video demonstration, you may have noticed that the bed allows more motion transfer than a typical all-foam bed. However, the pocketed coils should reduce enough motion transfer to satisfy most shoppers.

Temperature Regulation / Cooling

4/5

The materials used in this mattress help make it a more temperature-neutral model. First, there’s wool, which is great for temperature regulation and moisture-wicking. Next, there’s Dunlop latex, which is a temperature-neutral material. Lastly, this bed has coils that allow plenty of airflow to keep the construction from overheating. 

While we didn’t feel any heat building up, we also can’t call this bed a cooling one, so keep that in mind if you’re an extremely hot sleeper. 

Bounce

5/5

Bounce is where the Natural Escape mattress excels. If you saw Emma’s video, you can see her pressing into the surface layers that bounce right back into shape. Even when she presses deeper into the mattress, the layers bounce back immediately. 

This happens because the Natural Escape mattress has both coils and latex. As such, we think it’s an excellent option for sexually active couples, people with mobility issues, and combination sleepers. 

Edge Support

5/5

This bed features reinforced coils around the edges to promote enhanced edge support. As Emma said, “This reinforcement should create a consistent feel from edge to edge.” This gives couples plenty of room to spread out on either side without feeling like they could roll off. 

Performance for Couples

4/5

Couples often look for medium to medium-firm beds that have good edge support, motion isolation, and bounce. However, it’s sometimes difficult to combine motion isolation with bounce in a mattress for couples.

The Natural Escape mattress does this pretty well. There’s enough bounce and pushback support for late-night activities, but there’s also decent motion isolation to help prevent you from feeling your partner’s tossing and turning. However, particularly light sleepers sharing their bed with a restless sleeper may want something with memory foam and no coils instead. 

Preference-Based Features

  • Eco-Friendly Materials

The Natural Escape mattress is all about natural materials, hence the name. This hybrid combines latex, cotton, and wool, offering all the benefits of organic, eco-friendly materials. Plus, the materials are certified by third-party organizations. 

  • Button-Tufted Construction

The mattress is button tufted to ensure the layers are secured together without using any glue or adhesive harmful to people and the environment. 

  • Adjustable Base Compatible

Do you want to customize your Natural Escape mattress? If so, you can place it on an adjustable base instead of a standard bed foundation. 

  • Made in the USA

My Green Mattress Natural Escape

The Natural Escape is a hypoallergenic mattress designed for back and stomach sleepers seeking zoned support and a firm surface with just a bit of sinkage to prevent pressure build-up.

Score 4.2/5
Read My Green Mattress Natural Escape Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

My Green Mattress Natural Escape

The Natural Escape is a hypoallergenic mattress designed for back and stomach sleepers seeking zoned support and a firm surface with just a bit of sinkage to prevent pressure build-up.

Score 4.2/5
Read My Green Mattress Natural Escape Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

My Green Mattress Natural Escape

The Natural Escape is a hypoallergenic mattress designed for back and stomach sleepers seeking zoned support and a firm surface with just a bit of sinkage to prevent pressure build-up.

Score 4.2/5
Read My Green Mattress Natural Escape Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Construction: What’s Inside the Natural Escape? 

The Natural Escape mattress is a hybrid bed that comes with two layers and a cotton cover with organic wool quilting. The cover is made from wool and is quilted to temperature-regulating wool to create a soft feel. 

Right off the bat, you’ll notice the tufted button design, which reduces the need for adhesives and allows for a more natural construction. It’s important to note that the company warns that the handles on the sides of this bed are meant to aid in rotating the product and may become damaged if used for carrying or transporting.

This mattress is a total of 11 inches in height. 

  • The comfort layer of the Natural Escape is comprised of a 3-inch thick layer of Dunlop Latex. This material is meant to promote pressure relief and a soft transition into the coil support system below.
  • The support layer boasts an 8-inch pocketed coil system. These coils feature five zoned areas that should provide more pressure relief in the shoulder and leg areas, along with more support in the torso region to prevent sinkage and promote lumbar support and optimal spinal alignment.
  • The perimeter is made up of reinforced coils that should create an even feel across the surface of the bed. You can sit and sleep in this area without feeling like you could slide off. 

Unboxing & Off-Gassing

The Natural Escape is a latex and coil hybrid that is compressed and placed inside a box for shipping. The company recommends a flat, solid surface for setup, which includes foundations or the floor. Using a slatted base with the slats no more than 3 inches apart is recommended to prevent sagging. 

It takes only a few hours to decompress, and if you notice any off-gassing, that should also dissipate by the time the mattress decompresses. 

Certifications

  • Eco-Friendly Certifications – This product was certified by OEKO-TEX®, which evaluates textiles at all processing levels for acceptable levels of hazardous chemicals and flame retardants. It has a GREENGUARD Gold certification that reflects the product’s ability to meet some of the world’s most rigorous emissions standards. The cotton in the cover is GOTS-certified, which means the cotton meets the international third-party standard to be certified organic. The wool in the cover is also OEKO-TEX®-certified, while the latex is certified by GOLS.
  • GOTS & GOLS-Certified Factory – This company has achieved the certification conducted by Control Union that indicates organic processing for this product from start to finish.

Coupons, Trials, Warranties, and Shipping

  • Shipping – Shipping is free within the continental United States, but there’s an additional fee for shipping to Alaska, Hawaii, and Canada. The bed is made to order, which means it may take up to two weeks to receive it.
  • White Glove Delivery – Although the company doesn’t offer white glove delivery, they can remove and recycle your old mattress for an additional 130 dollars. If you’re in California, this service is free.
  • Trial – The company offers a 365-night trial, giving you plenty of time to test how you like the bed. They suggest you use it for at least 30 days before initiating a return, which is how long it takes to adapt to a new bed.
  • Warranty – This hybrid comes with a 20-year warranty. 
  • Return Policy – If you decide you don’t like the Natural Escape mattress, you can contact the company for an exchange or a full refund. 

Sizes & Prices

SizeDimensions (inches)Price (w/o discount)
Twin39” x 75” x 11”$1,099
Twin XL39” x 79” x 11”$1,149
Full54” x 75” x 11”$1,399
Full XL54” x 79” x 11”$1,599
Queen60” x 79” x 11”$1,699
King75” x 79” x 11”$1,999
Cali King72” x 83” x 11”$2,099

Frequently Asked Questions 

What is the firmness rating of the My Green Mattress Natural Escape?

We rate the Natural Escape mattress a 6.5-7.5 out of 10 on our firmness scale. This means it should feel medium-firm to slightly firm, depending on their weight, body shape, and preferred sleeping position. 

Are My Green Mattresses really non-toxic?

My Green Mattress beds are non-toxic, as they’re made from eco-friendly, organic materials. The materials are certified as eco-friendly and safe from toxins, heavy metals, chemicals, and other harmful substances. These mattresses, including the Natural Escape, don’t even contain glue as they’re hand-tufted to keep the layers together. 

Is My Green Mattress Natural Escape good for side sleepers?

The My Green Mattress Natural Escape is on the firmer side, but this doesn’t mean it wouldn’t work for side sleepers, depending on their body weight and shape. Some side sleepers, especially those under 130 pounds, may want a softer bed.

Natural Escape vs. Other Brands

Natural Escape vs. Avocado Green

Product
Firmness
Trial Period
My Green Mattress Natural Escape
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
120 nights
Avocado Green Mattress
Avocado Green Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
365 nights
Product
My Green Mattress Natural Escape
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Trial Period
120 nights
Avocado Green Mattress
Product
Avocado Green Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Trial Period
365 nights

Who We Recommend the Natural Escape For

  • People after a more affordable bed
  • Sleepers with back pain 
  • Average-weight sleepers

Who We Recommend the Avocado Green For

  • Those after a more expensive bed
  • Sleepers with hip pain
  • Back sleepers

Read our Avocado Green mattress review if you think the Avocado is right for you

Natural Escape vs. Zenhaven

Product
Firmness
Trial Period
My Green Mattress Natural Escape
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
120 nights
Zenhaven Mattress
Zenhaven Mattress
Multiple firmness options
365 nights
Product
My Green Mattress Natural Escape
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Trial Period
120 nights
Zenhaven Mattress
Product
Zenhaven Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Trial Period
365 nights

Who We Recommend the Natural Escape For

  • Budget shoppers
  • People who want a medium-firm bed
  • Lightweight stomach sleepers

Who We Recommend the Zenhaven For

  • Luxury shoppers
  • Those who want more firmness options
  • Hot sleepers

Check our in-depth Zenhaven review if you think this mattress may be for you.

Natural Escape vs. Other My Green Mattress Models 

Natural Escape vs. Kiwi Organic

Check the Latest Price for Kiwi Organic

Who We Recommend the Natural Escape For

  • Those with a larger budget
  • Heavier sleepers
  • Those who prefer a firmer bed

Who We Recommend the Kiwi Organic For

  • Budget shoppers
  • Average-weight sleepers
  • Sleepers after a medium feel

Our Verdict 

Stomach and back sleepers who like a medium to slightly firm feel should enjoy this supportive hybrid bed. The coils and latex offer pushback and pressure relief as they adapt to the sleeper’s weight, position, and movements. Multiple certifications promise an eco-friendly sleep space that should be ideal for shoppers who want to protect their sleep and the planet.

Although it may be too firm for some petite sleepers, we think this bed should fit most people well. The versatile firmness and its excellent edge support and bounce make it a good option for couples and combination sleepers as well. Overall, this bed earned a 4.2 out of 5. 

Olivera Jancikin

Olivera Jancikin

Content Writer

About Author

Olivera is a content writer for Sleep Advisor and is enthusiastic about sleep. She firmly believes in the benefits of daytime naps on top of getting a full 8-hour sleep at night.

Combination Sleeper