Transparency Disclosure — We may receive a referral fee for products purchased through the links on our site…Read More.


Saatva Youth Mattress Review for 2024- Expert Reviewed

Kids need quality sleep for their growing mind and body. This means they also require a quality mattress to help them achieve better sleep. 

While many beds are often marketed toward adults, it helps to have a mattress option specifically designed with kids in mind. The Saatva Youth is Saatva’s answer to a bed for kids. Saatva, a luxury mattress brand founded in 2010, sells also this flippable hybrid for the little ones. The Saatva Youth mattress has two sides, one for 3 to 7-year-olds and the other for 8 to 12-year-olds. 

Is it worth the spend? In this article, we’ll break down the good and the bad, discussing the overall feel, construction, motion isolation, support, and more. Since we don’t have actual kids on our testing team, we’ll also cover what some real-life customers are saying about the Saatva Youth for their children.

Saatva Youth Mattress

Saatva Youth Mattress

A dual-sided kids’ mattress that’s designed to see children through the ages of 3 to 12.

Score 5.0/5
Read Saatva Youth Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Saatva Youth Mattress

Saatva Youth Mattress

A dual-sided kids’ mattress that’s designed to see children through the ages of 3 to 12.

Score 5.0/5
Read Saatva Youth Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5
Saatva Youth Mattress

Saatva Youth Mattress

A dual-sided kids’ mattress that’s designed to see children through the ages of 3 to 12.

Score 5.0/5
Read Saatva Youth Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5
Pros
A great thing about this mattress is that it’s flippable – one side is for younger kids, and the other is for older ones. Customers say they love this versatility, claiming this Saatva is great for transitioning from a crib to a big bed.
Well-made innerspring bends can be durable, which is a plus here because kids tend to roll around and jump on their beds.
One of the best things about the Saatva Youth is that it comes with a lifetime warranty. This is much more than what most companies offer, especially when it comes to a kids’ mattress.
Cons
One of the best things about the Saatva Youth is that it comes with a lifetime warranty. This is much more than what most companies offer, especially when it comes to a kids’ mattress.
This bed comes with a water-resistant cover that’s great for spills and accidents, but it’s not removable. This means it might be more difficult to clean when accidents do happen. Consider a mattress protector if your child is prone to spilling things or wetting the bed.
We think Saatva offers a lot of value, but it’s important to note that this is a high-end mattress. While many parents and kids are happy with it, the higher price might make it inaccessible for budget shoppers.

Saatva Youth Mattress Performance Ratings

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4
Pressure Relief
5
Support
2
Motion Transfer
4
Cooling
5
Bounce
5
Edge Support

Who We Recommend The Saatva Youth For:

  • Young back sleepers – Younger back sleepers should appreciate the medium-firm feel and targeted lumbar support. This combination can help foster a healthy spine alignment. 
  • Kids who love a bouncy bed – There’s no secret to why kids love bouncy beds. Although we don’t recommend any jumping as it can shorten the lifespan of your Saatva, this springy bed earned many good reviews for its bouncy feel.
  • Adults looking for a sound investment – This mattress is an investment and is meant to last your kid through puberty. We think it’s worth the investment for those who can afford it. 

Who We Don’t Recommend The Saatva Youth For:

  • Kids who prefer the cushioning of memory foam – If your kid prefers the comforting hug of memory foam, then you will want to look at beds with this material because they won’t get with this innerspring mattress.
  • Adults on a smaller budget – Some parents might not be able to afford a luxury mattress for their child. However, there are plenty of budget mattresses available that are still great-quality options.
  • Adults – Many parents who bought this bed for their kids said they tested it out. While they say it was a comfortable experience, we wouldn’t recommend you sleep on it too long. The Saatva Youth is designed specifically for kids, and adults are better off with regular hybrid mattresses that can give them the innerspring unit but also foam layers for pressure relief on the joints.

Customer Reviews of the Saatva Youth Mattress 

On the Saatva website, this mattress is rated 4.8 out of 5 stars. Some customers specifically praised the delivery process and the brand’s customer service. Overall, reviews for this bed are positive.

Testing the Saatva Youth Mattress 

Sleep Advisor’s Testing Methodology

We like to get the best mattress evaluation by trying it out in person and seeing how it feels in each sleep position. On top of that, we use various methods to test for motion isolation, cooling, edge support, bounce, and pressure relief, all of which are important factors to consider for those buying a new bed. Since we don’t have actual kid testers on our team, we like to incorporate our testing process as well as feedback from customers who’ve bought this mattress for their child.

To learn more about our testing methodology, visit our product review process page.

Saatva Youth Mattress

Firmness & Feel

Firmness Scale: 6.5/10

Please remember that firmness is a subjective characteristic and your shape will dictate how you experience a bed. A heavier person whose weight can more easily push through softer comfort and support layers may experience a bed as softer than a lightweight person. The way you are shaped could also play a role here. Consider your weight, shape, and size when evaluating firmness scores.

Our firmness rating ranges from 1 to 10, with 1 being incredibly soft and 10 being extremely firm. The Saatva Youth is a flippable mattress, with our team giving both sides a medium-firm rating of 6.5 out of 10. That said, the side meant for older kids might feel a bit firmer for some children. 

How Does It Feel?

The Saatva Youth’s cover feels soft to the touch and you’ll notice its buoyancy as soon as you press into the layers. Due to its overall firmness, most kids should sleep on top of the bed rather than being enveloped by it. We think this is great for young combination sleepers, as it can help them switch positions more easily. 

Sleeping Positions for Different Body Types

The official weight limit for the Saatva Youth is 250 pounds. However, this bed is designed specifically for kids, so this weight limit should be adequate for children. 

Young Children (Ages 3-7)

The side designed for younger kids should accommodate side, back, and stomach sleepers. The 5-zone support layer comes right under the cover, providing a firmer feel in the center third of the bed. This helps maintain proper spine alignment for the youngest kids who also need the most support. 

Older Children (Ages 8-12)

This side of the Saatva Youth is specially designed for older kids and should work for side, back, and stomach sleeping. We think the support level is good enough for most kids aged 8 to 12 years in a healthy posture, but there’s also some pressure relief to cushion their muscles and joints. 

Pressure Relief

4/5

The foam on each side allows only so little sinkage to keep the heaviest parts, like the shoulders or hips, from experiencing too much pressure buildup. Parents who have bought this bed for their kids report that the kids find the Saatva Youth comfortable and have no complaints about pressure relief. 

Support

5/5

Support is equally important for kids as it is for adults. Their growing bodies need adequate support so that the spine stays in a healthy alignment. The Saatva Youth mattress has a dual-sided design that we think should offer sufficient support on both sides, catering to these two specific age groups. 

Parents are particularly happy because the Saatva Youth mattress offers variable support levels, adapting to kids’ needs as they grow. 

Motion Transfer

2/5

In our opinion, the Saatva Youth mattress is not the best option for motion isolation. We could more easily feel movement traveling from one side to the other, which is why we gave it such a low score for this category. That said, lower motion isolation is more common in innerspring beds.

However, one thing to keep in mind is that motion isolation might not be important for all kids. Motion isolation is a nice plus if your kid shares their mattress with a sibling or a pet. If not, they probably don’t care. Plus, high motion transfer typically means more bounce, which may be preferred in a kids’ bed. 

Temperature Regulation / Cooling

4/5

This Saatva mattress has a breathable cover and coils to help promote airflow. Both of these features help keep the mattress cool, but we think that kids who live in a warm climate or tend to overheat might want a specifically designed cooling mattress.

Bounce

5/5

The Saatva Youth mattress gets a 5 out of 5 for bounce, as it’s one of the bounciest kids’ beds we came across. This is likely because it’s an innerspring design and doesn’t have too many comfort layers on top of the coil unit. 

The high bounce should make this mattress easier to move on, which is great for changing positions or getting in and out of bed. 

Edge Support

5/5

Good edge support can be helpful for kids’ mattresses. These beds are smaller, which means your kid doesn’t have as much space to spread out as they would on a larger mattress. 

We found the Saatva Youth mattress to have solid edge support, which means your child should feel secure sitting and sleeping near the edge of the bed.

Saatva Youth Mattress

Saatva Youth Mattress

A dual-sided kids’ mattress that’s designed to see children through the ages of 3 to 12.

Score 5.0/5
Read Saatva Youth Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Saatva Youth Mattress

Saatva Youth Mattress

A dual-sided kids’ mattress that’s designed to see children through the ages of 3 to 12.

Score 5.0/5
Read Saatva Youth Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5
Saatva Youth Mattress

Saatva Youth Mattress

A dual-sided kids’ mattress that’s designed to see children through the ages of 3 to 12.

Score 5.0/5
Read Saatva Youth Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Preference-Based Features

Eco-Conscious Materials

This mattress features multiple eco-friendly materials. On top of that, the flame-retardant barrier doesn’t contain chemical sprays. Instead, it’s made from thistle pulp. 

The Guardin™ botanical microbial treatment is non-toxic, which adds to this bed’s overall eco-friendly design. Lastly, the Saatva Youth has an organic cotton cover, CertiPUR-US®-certified foams, and recycled coils. 

Check out our picks for the best organic mattresses.

Made in the USA

Saatva makes their mattresses in the United States, and it’s worth noting that all of the foams and 85 percent of other materials are sourced within the U.S.

Waterproof Barrier

A waterproof barrier can be immensely helpful for a kids’ bed in the event of a nighttime accident or spill. This barrier can help extend the lifespan of the mattress if and when a spill or accident does occur.

Construction: What’s Inside the Saatva Youth?

The Saatva Youth is a 10-inch, dual-sided innerspring mattress that features a soft, breathable organic cotton cover on both sides. One side is designed for younger kids aged 3 to 7, while the other is for kids aged 8 to 12. You can tell each side apart by the embroidery on the side of the mattress. In this section, we’ll walk you through the layers of the side meant for younger kids. 

  • The quilted cover has a water-resistant finish as well as a waterproof barrier to take the stress out of any bedwetting accidents or spillages. The cover is also treated with Saatva’s Guardin™ botanical microbial treatment, which can help prevent the growth of mold, mildew, and bacteria in general. The center third of the cover features Lumbar Zone® quilting, which provides added support for a healthy spine alignment. 
  • The comfort layer on this side has five-zoned support. As part of this design, this layer is firmer in the center third to keep the spine straight in all positions. 
  • The dual-sided coil unit has 13.75-gauge recycled coils that cater to growing bodies by adding flexibility and durability to the mattress. The coils also help with breathability and buoyancy for a cooler, more responsive mattress. 
  • A high-density comfort foam comes right under the coils and is the initial comfort layer if you flip the mattress. 

Unboxing & Off-Gassing

Saatva ships their mattresses full size. Because it comes fully expanded and ready to go, the Saatva Youth bed has no off-gassing odors, which we think is a plus, especially for younger slepeers or any sensitive to smells. On top of that, the company offers complimentary white glove delivery, so you don’t have to worry about setting up this bed yourself.

Certifications

  • Eco-Friendly Certifications – The foams in this bed are CertiPUR-US® certified. CertiPUR-US® is a third-party program that ensures the foams meet rigorous health and safety standards. This means they don’t contain harmful substances like ozone depleters, PBDEs, heavy metals, formaldehyde, and phthalates. They should also have low volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions.

Coupons, Trials, Warranties, and Shipping

  • Shipping – Shipping is free within the continental United States, but there’s a fee for shipping to Alaska and Hawaii. If you live in either of these states, the company will help arrange shipping at your expense. 
  • White Glove Delivery – Saatva offers white glove delivery with your mattress purchase. They’ll even remove the old one if you want. 
  • Trial – Your kid has 365 nights to test this bed and decide if they like it.
  • Warranty – The Saatva Youth comes with a lifetime warranty.
  • Return Policy – You can return this mattress for a refund at any point during the trial, but there’s a processing fee of $99.

Sizes & Prices

SizeDimensions (inches)Price (w/o discount)
Twin38” x 75” x 10”$795
Twin XL38” x 80” x 10”$935
Full54” x 75” x 10”$1,055

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the weight limit of the Saatva Youth?

Saatva states that the weight limit of this mattress is 250 pounds, which we think should be more than enough to accommodate young children.

What country is Saatva from?

Saatva is an American company that makes their beds to order. Mattresses are handcrafted in their 19 factories stretching across the United States.

Do you need a box spring for a Saatva Youth bed?

No, you don’t need a box spring for the Saatva Youth. This mattress works with all bases, box springs, and platforms. There’s also a foundation specifically designed for Saatva Youth that’s available in two heights. 

Is Saatva worth the money?

Saatva is a high-end mattress brand that makes high-quality beds. They sell directly to consumers, so their prices are lower than they would be at a retail store. However, they’re not the cheapest out there, and while we think they offer good value for money, they might not be the best budget option. Nonetheless, you’re getting premium materials, high-quality workmanship, and long-lasting durability.

What mattress should a 10-year-old have?

Kids this age typically benefit from medium-firm mattresses that have enough support but also some pressure relief to accommodate their growing bodies.

Saatva Youth vs. Other Brands

Saatva Youth vs. Helix Kids

Product
Firmness
Trial Period
Saatva Youth Mattress
Saatva Youth Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
365 nights
Helix for kids mattress product image
Helix Kids Mattress
Multiple firmness options
100 Nights
Saatva Youth Mattress
Product
Saatva Youth Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Trial Period
365 nights
Helix for kids mattress product image
Product
Helix Kids Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Trial Period
100 Nights

Who We Recommend the Saatva Youth For

  • Kids aged 3 to 12
  • Those looking for a mattress that will last their child until the teenage years
  • Luxury shoppers

Who We Recommend the Helix Kids For

  • Kids who need a more distinct difference in feel on each side
  • Shoppers on a slightly tighter budget
  • Kids aged 3 to 12

Read our full Helix Kids mattress review here.

Saatva Youth vs. Other Saatva Models

Saatva Youth vs. Saatva Classic

Product
Firmness
Trial Period
Saatva Youth Mattress
Saatva Youth Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
365 nights
Saatva Classic Mattress in Sleep Advisor
Saatva Mattress
Multiple firmness options
365 nights
Saatva Youth Mattress
Product
Saatva Youth Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Trial Period
365 nights
Saatva Classic Mattress in Sleep Advisor
Product
Saatva Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Trial Period
365 nights

Who We Recommend the Saatva Youth For

  • Young sleepers aged 3 to 12 years old
  • Adults looking to purchase a premium mattress for a child
  • Those looking for targeted lumbar support

Who We Recommend the Saatva Classic For

  • Adults who need good back support
  • Those who love the comfort of a pillow top
  • Back and side sleepers

Learn more in our Saatva Classic Mattress Review.

Saatva Youth vs. Saatva Latex Hybrid

Product
Firmness
Trial Period
Saatva Youth Mattress
Saatva Youth Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
365 nights
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Firm: 7/10
365 nights
Saatva Youth Mattress
Product
Saatva Youth Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Trial Period
365 nights
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Product
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 7/10
Trial Period
365 nights

Who We Recommend the Saatva Youth For

  • Eco-conscious consumers
  • Shoppers looking for a flippable kids’ mattress
  • Young back sleepers

Who We Recommend the Saatva Latex Hybrid For

  • Hot sleepers
  • Stomach sleepers
  • Heavyweight sleepers

Check out our full Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review.

Our Verdict

It’s crucial for kids to feel well-rested so that they’re prepared for a big day, whether it’s for school or play. We think the Saatva Youth bed might be the right model to provide just that. It’s suitable for young kids as well as older kids about to enter their teenage years. Plus, it feels comfortable in all sleeping positions, according to different parents. 

Designed to last for years, this Saatva mattress is made with the quality materials and craftsmanship the brand is known for. The main drawback is the lack of motion isolation, but this shouldn’t be a concern for most kids. This bed earned an overall score of 4.2 out of 5.

Saatva Youth Mattress

Saatva Youth Mattress

A dual-sided kids’ mattress that’s designed to see children through the ages of 3 to 12.

Score 5.0/5
Read Saatva Youth Mattress Review
CHECK PRICE

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Saatva Youth Mattress

Saatva Youth Mattress

A dual-sided kids’ mattress that’s designed to see children through the ages of 3 to 12.

Score 5.0/5
Read Saatva Youth Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5
Saatva Youth Mattress

Saatva Youth Mattress

A dual-sided kids’ mattress that’s designed to see children through the ages of 3 to 12.

Score 5.0/5
Read Saatva Youth Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5
Olivera Jancikin

Olivera Jancikin

Content Writer

About Author

Olivera is a content writer for Sleep Advisor and is enthusiastic about sleep. She firmly believes in the benefits of daytime naps on top of getting a full 8-hour sleep at night.

Combination Sleeper

Education & Credentials

  • Certified Sleep Science Coach